10th Korean Astrophysics Workshop (KAW10):

Astrophysics of High-Beta Plasma in the ICM

July 1 - 4, 2019

Haeundae, Busan, Korea (Venue – Shilla Stay Haeundae)


 Scientific Rationale

The baryonic matter of the universe is in the form of hot, collisionless, high-beta plasma in the intracluster medium (ICM). ICMs have been recognized as vital elements in the formation and evolution of the large-scale structure of the universe and individual galaxies, as well as essential diagnostic tools of galaxy clusters. ICMs are highly dynamic and turbulent, penetrated by shocks/discontinuities and radio jets from AGNs. They also contain magnetic fields and high-energy protons and electrons (cosmic-rays). ICMs may also provide a unique laboratory for basic physics for hot, high-beta plasmas. Yet, important microphysical processes in ICMs, such as those controlling dissipation, conduction, turbulence, magnetic field evolution and energetic particle acceleration, are still poorly understood. The plan for this workshop is to set up focused sessions through which we learn and discuss key plasma physical properties of ICM plasmas, as well as their roles and observational implications.


Program (tentative)

July 1 (Mon)

- nonthermal particle distribution

- magnetic reconnection

- transportation and kinetic processes

July 2 (Tue)

- collisionless shocks and proton acceleration

- collisionless shocks and electron acceleration

- turbulence and particle acceleration

July 3 (Wed)

- magnetic fields and dynamo

- interaction of relativistic plasma (radio jets) and thermal gas

July 4 (Thu)

- open discussion


Speakers - invitation only (as of June 26, 2019)

- Hiroki Akamatsu (SRON, The Netherlands)

- David Ball (University of Arizona, USA)

- Andrey Beresnyak (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)

- Gianfranco Brunetti (IRA-INAF, Bologna, Italy)

- Jungyeon Cho (Chungnam National University, Korea)

- Luca Comisso (Columbia University, USA)

- Francesco de Gasperin (University of Hamburg, Germany)

- Elisabete M. de Gouveia dal Pino (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil)

- Klaus Dolag (LMU Munchen, Germany)

- James Drake (University of Maryland, USA)

- Federica Govoni (Osservatorio Astronomico di Cagliari, Italy)

- Fulai Guo (Shanghai Astronomical Obs, China)

- Ji-Hoon Ha (UNIST, Korea)

- Colby Haggerty (University of Chicago, USA)

- Masahiro Hoshino (University of Tokyo, Japan)

- Tom Jones (University of Minnesota, USA)

- Hyesung Kang (Pusan National University, Korea)

- Sunjung Kim (UNIST, Korea)

- Sergey Komarov (Institute of Astronomy, UK)

- Martin Krause (University of Hertfordshire, UK)

- Maxim Markevitch (NASA/GSFC, USA)

- Shuichi Matsukiyo (Kyushu University, Japan)

- Yosuke Matsumoto (Chiba University, Japan)

- Brian McNamara (University of Waterloo, Canada)

- Jacek Niemiec (Institute of Nuclear Physics, PAN, Poland)

- Chris Nolting (University of Minnesota, USA)

- Mitsuo Oka (University of California, Berkeley, USA)

- Soongyoung Roh (UNIST, Korea)

- Dongsu Ryu (UNIST, Korea)

- Domenico Trotta (Queen Mary University of London, UK)

- A. J. van Marle (UNIST, Korea)

- Reinout van Weeren (Leiden University, The Netherland)

- Franco Vazza (IRA-INAF & University of Bologna, Italy)

- Lynn B. Wilson (NASA/GSFC, USA)

- Denis Wittor (University of Bologna, Italy)


Scientific organizing committee

Gianfranco Brunetti (INAF Istituto di Radioastronomia, Italy)

David Burgess (Queen Mary University of London, UK)

Jungyeon Cho (Chungnam National University, Korea)

T. W. Jones (University of Minnesota, USA)

Hyesung Kang (Pusan National University, Korea) (co-chair)

Dongsu Ryu (UNIST, Korea) (co-chair)


Registration Fee: 300 USD (or 350,000 KW), onsite cash only

To cover breakfast, lunch, coffee breaks, and banquet  (evening of 7/2)



For further inquiries, please contact ryu_at_sirius.unist.ac.kr